top of page


BULA ! FIJI FOR ME is Fiji's No.1 Tourism Discussion Forum

 Our home Fiji is a tropical paradise and a country made up of islands in the South Pacific Ocean 1,300 miles (2,000 km) northeast of New Zealand.  Fiji Is an amazing Holiday destination due to it's tropical climate and is a great place to relax and go on scenic holiday tours to our Bula paradise. Fiji's closest neighbouring countries are Vanuatu to the west, New Caledonia to the southwest, New Zealand's Kermadec Islands to the southeast, Tonga to the east, the Samoas and Tuvalu to the north. ​

Fiji is an archipelago of approximately 330 islands, of which 110 are permanently inhabited and 500 islets, thus gives Fiji total land area of about 18,300 square kilometres (7,100 sq mi). The farthest island is Ono-i-Lau. The two major islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, have  87% of the population of almost 860,000. Suva is the capital city of Fiji on Viti Levu, and also serves as Fiji's main cruise port. Three-quarters of Fijians live on Viti Levu's  in Suva or in smaller urban centres like Nadi (tourism hub) or Lautoka (sugar cane industry). Viti Levu's interior is much more sparsely inhabited due to its terrain.​Due to an abundance of forest, mineral, and fish resources, Fiji has one of the most developed economies in the South Pacific. The main sources of foreign exchange are the tourist industry and sugar exports. Fiji has it's own currency which is the Fijian dollar. 

​Many of  Fiji's islands were formed through volcanic activity over 150 million years ago. There is still some geothermal activity that occurs on the islands of Vanua Levu and Taveuni. Fiji has been inhabited for thousands of years, it was settled originally by Austronesians and later by Melanesians, with some Polynesian influences. Europeans have been visiting Fiji  since the 17th century, and after a brief period as an independent kingdom, the British established the Colony of Fiji in 1874. Fiji was a Crown colony until 1970, when it gained independence as a Commonwealth realm. A republic was declared in 1987.

bottom of page